Home is Where the Heart Is | WordPress Daily Prompt | Rolling Stone

If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?

The thing that people seem to forget when they consider these questions is what home actually is. Home never really means the timber your that surrounds you, or the car you drive. To paraphrase Fight Club, home is not your fucking khakis.

I have never felt more uncomfortable than the year I spent in my own apartment, following four years of relative vagrancy during university. With no investment in household goods in those four years exceeding approximately $20, finding myself surrounded by an entire studio apartment full of things that I owned was deeply unsettling. I quickly shook this feeling by moving most of said worldly possessions to my parents’ basement, where they remain at this moment, collecting dust and moth holes.

I packed what I would soon discover was far more than I needed into a 60 litre backpack and bought a one-way ticket to Australia. This appears to have been only the beginning, as my vague outline of plans for the next year or so involve far less permanence than I currently have in Sydney. Because at the moment, I live in a flat. There are couches here, there are clothes that will not fit in my backpack. There won’t be a moment where I consider not leaving, though. This is temporary, as each stop I make along the way will be. And I’m perfectly comfortable with this.

Apart from my love of traveling, there is a key component to this level of comfort with a relatively unsettled lifestyle. That is the fact that the vagrancy has recently morphed from a solo mission into one with a partner. This means that there is no search for home, as I’ve found it and can take it with me wherever I go. There will be no missing a building of sticks and bricks, as I already have what would make it worth spending time there. When you realize that home can be a perfectly transient thing, it makes the dream and the reality of living any sort of life much more attainable, and sustainable. Because you’re always home.

The Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

